I Love Crushed Ice

Doesn’t every beverage taste better with crushed ice?  I’m not sure why that is the case, but it’s true.  I was reminded of that when I read a blog today on Brand Noise about crushed frozen water (aka crushed ice).

I’ve never run a restaurant, but it appears to me that more and more people are ordering water with their meals.  I am.  This seems to be a big deal since restaurants make huge margins off of fountain sodas and other soft drinks. They don’t make a dime by serving glasses of water – and I guess they actually LOSE money.

When you think of a beverage with crushed ice, what do you think of?  For me, it’s good ol’ Coca-Cola.  I’m not a huge Coke apologist, but Coke with crushed ice is awesome.

If I was Coke, I would buy my top accounts crushed ice machines and in return, I would ask them to promote “crushed ice” on the menus.  It’s a no brainer.  More people would order a fountain Coke (profits for the account) and the consumer gets a great brand experience (yay Coke).  Unless crushed ice machines cost like a million dollars, this is a no brainer, right?

One thought on “I Love Crushed Ice

  1. Pingback: Somabus » Blog Archive » Who Loves Crushed Ice..

Leave a Reply

