Motivation to Learn and Share

For the first time in six years, I’m not in Austin for the shit show that is South-by-Southwest (SXSW). But I have been watching a lot of the blogs, tweets and tumbles coming out of the Interactive portion of SXSW. It’s pretty interesting how everyone wants to share what they are talking about and what they’re learning. It’s almost like people are competing to share the best information.

All of this got me thinking that I’ve probably learned more by just watching how people are using social media to broadcast their experience and learnings to the world than I would have by actually attending the conference.

Seriously, the more I see how people use tools like Twitter, blogs, Facebook, etc., the more I learn how I can apply them to my own marketing challenges.

The people that are doing this better than anyone are the guys from Plaid. A few guys from the agency made the trek down to Austin and they’re documenting the whole thing via their SXSW blog, Twitter, and Tumblr. I’ve managed to steal a lot of good ideas by simply watching how they have documented their trip. Their work has also motivated me to get out and go to a conference so I can share what I learn. All of which got me thinking again…

Does a collaborative environment that offers tools to share insights stimulate learning?

Focus group of one here, but I think it does for me. I’m heading to San Diego for the Craft Brewers Conference in April, and I’m excited to go there and document my trip and share everything I learn. The best part for me is that I’m more motivated to learn and retain information.

Are you more motivated to learn when you have the opportunity to share?

I am the Director of Marketing for Flying Dog Brewery and this is my personal blog and these are my personal opinions. Don’t take them too seriously. I don’t.

Leave a Reply

