Is This Weird?

On my way home last night, I picked up an Italian Salad from Buca di Beppo to go with the lasagna for dinner.  As I made the order at the take out desk, she asked for my phone number.  I always wonder why Radio Shack, Best Buy and all those other places ask for my phone number, but whatever.

I gave it to her and didn’t think much of it.

Later in the night, I get a phone call from a “303” (Denver) number I didn’t recognize.  I get a lot of random phone calls that I need to take, so I answered.  It was the girl from Buca di Beppo asking me how my salad was.  Is this good customer service or a little on the annoying/weird/stalker side?

I think it’s annoying, weird, stalker-ish and a little OCD on the whole customer service thing.

4 thoughts on “Is This Weird?

  1. I’d side with you on the whole “annoying, weird, stalker-ish and a little OCD” argument.

    Meanwhile, I actually smiled when Apple’s Genius Bar emailed me after my visit (I’ve only needed to go once), realizing what they took my email for.

    I guess your Buca di Beppo situation is only as awkward as it was because your choice to opt-out only came after you felt personally identifiable: a semi-personal phone call is a lot weirder to drop than an email.

  2. I’d say the phone is a little much, since it’s not very ignorable. A follow-up email with a coupon would be nice (as long as they promised not to share your address or spam you).

  3. Hey moron, that chick wanted to totally lck your taint. That’s why she called. That is code for tossing your salad. “How was your salad?” I get asked that when I go to Free Sprit Massage parlor over by you in Belleville. You just let a great opportunity pass you by & yes, that’s good customer service.

Leave a Reply

