I’m Popular and Other Grad Scool Orientation Observations

Guess who was Mr. Popularity at the Daniels School of Business EMBA Orientation this weekend?  Yup, me!  At least I perceived it that way.  Or maybe it’s because I work for a beer company and everyone was just tying to get a free beer hook-up.  That’s fine – I don’t care.  I’ve never been above buying friends, since I was in a fraternity and all.

Orientation was 2.5 days of lectures, campus tours, classrooms, panel discussions, group meals, awkward introductions and an assortment of other mandatory type stuff.  Looked like school, smelled like school. I think it was school.

By all accounts, the next 18 months are going to be a complete roller coaster.  One minute, I was totally energized by learning something new or taking in a good conversation, the next I had internal panic thinking about the scars I’m left with from Freshman Algebra.

Over the weekend, I kept hearing:

  • It’s a lot of hard work
  • You’ll miss it when you’re done
  • Don’t worry about grades – concentrate on learning
  • You must keep a 3.0 or you’re on probation
  • Whoa, what was that? I gotta keep a 3.0?

All in all, it sounds like a fraternity Hell Week that keeps on giving… for 18 months.  Back then they kept telling us that it will be “the best week you’ll never want to do again.”  Not showering for 5 days and public humiliation is one thing, but reading 5 chapters on Assets, Liabilities and Stockholder’s Equity is another story.

Overall, my thought process is this: I’m definitely not the smartest person who has ever entered this program, but I’m not the dumbest either.  I’m just going to find my home in the middle and do my thing.  After all, the guy who finishes last in his Med School class can call himself “Doctor”.

3 thoughts on “I’m Popular and Other Grad Scool Orientation Observations

  1. You can also call yourself a “Dr.” if you’re a rapper. BTW, in grad school if you do the work, they give you an “A”. So don’t sweat it.

Leave a Reply

