Journal Writing, Not Blogging?

We’re getting a lot of encouragement to keep a journal during our EMBA program. A journal?  What’s that? I joke.

I was reading a journal created by some dude in one of the previous “cohorts” (that their fancy word for class) and he gives a few reasons why journaling is better than blogging:

Blogs can get lost in the online sea of bits and bytes.

Yeah, there are new blogs online everyday.  And I guess the shitty ones get lost in the sea, but who cares?

Blogs have a temporary nature to them.

Not for me.  A journal that I’ll want to throw out the next time I move for the sake of getting rid of clutter feels temporary to me.  A blog feels way more permanent to me.  It’s online, for as long as I want it – taking up zero space.

Blogs can be edited and impressions altered.

Yeah, ok.  But a true blogger doesn’t do that.

Blogs can be taken off the web in a moments’ notice, never to be found again.

Yeah, and I can burn a journal in a moment’s notice.  Or worse yet, lose it.

Blogs are a dime a dozen.

Yeah, there are a lot of blogs out there, 99.99% of which don’t mean jack-shit to me.  But the ones that I read are really important to me.  It’s my way of keeping track of what’s important to me, or finding out new technology, keeping up with friends and learning from others.  So the real difference is that journals are good for being private and that’s all well and good – but at this point in time, I like sharing my thoughts with the people who give a rat’s ass.  Maybe my stupid little thoughts will have some kind of affect on them.

There’s a lot of talk about collaboration in class and a journal seems to be the complete opposite approach.  Sounds like “fear of a blogging planet” to me.

And I don’t want to keep a journal because my handwriting sucks.  So there.

One thought on “Journal Writing, Not Blogging?

Leave a Reply

