I Gotta Get This Off My Chest

This Brett Farve Wrangler commercial has bugged the shit out of me for a while now.  Here’s why:

  1. Is Brett Farve such an ego maniac that he wears a number “4” t-shirt when he’s not on the field.  Does he really need to remind people that he’s Brett Farve and he wears number 4 on the field?
  2. This is obviously a pick up football game out at some farm.  Can’t Brett give up the spotlight for a day and let someone else play QB?  What about blocking for a change, Brett?
  3. Is it really necessary to call audibles?  If you listen closely, he’s apparently changing the play at the line of scrimmage.  I mean, are they planning out some audibles in-between plays?
Vodpod videos no longer available.

(for those of you on RSS, click here for the video)

(for those of you that don’t know me, I’m just having some fun with this.  I know why advertisers do this shit.  But it still bugs the crap out of me.)

more about “I Gotta Get this off my Chest“, posted with vodpod
One thought on “I Gotta Get This Off My Chest

  1. Too funny. I can clearly picture every step of the creative process that lead to that spot.

    The initial idea to set the stage on a farm in a divisive “real America” vs. “metro America” election year.

    The 30 seconds of silence after the client presentation that made the Account Director so nervous that he blurted out – we could get Brett Farve!

    The hesitance of the Marketing Director … will people recognize him without the uniform? Maybe we should have him wear a jersey. The Art Director’s careful pushback – how about just a visual reference to the 4…

    I dunno … just looks like concept casserole to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

