links for 2009-11-16

  • Think the success of the Snuggie is 100% kitch? Nope, there’s a smart marketer behind the whole thing who capitalized on an opportunity and ran with it.

     

    The luck of the Snuggie is that it caught on in social media and in viral networks. The strategy behind it is that they recognized the opportunity, embraced how the consumer took ownership of the brand/product and facilitated it to go much further.

    Now the game for Snuggie is to expand occasions and distribution while staying relevant, which in this day where brands, people, shows, bands or anything else can jump the shark in an instant is really hard.

  • Everyone has an opinion on social media etiquette and Guy Kawasaki weighs in on a variety of topics including whether it is ok to “repeat your tweets”.

     

    In the past, I have really resisted repeating my tweets, but this changed my mind. Guy has reminded me that Twitter is a marketing tool. For me, it’s a marketing tool for my blogs. I don’t make any money off of either of my blogs, but I do like to drive traffic and Twitter is one of the main ways I do that.

    The other thing I totally agree with is that if you’re not pissing someone off, you’re not using Twitter to it’s fullest potential. Everyone has an opinion of how they like to interact with people and brands on this platform. Just like anything else you have to measure and understand how your influencer consumers and/or followers like to interact with you. In marketing, you’ll never make 100% of the people happy 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

